Organisation and Accreditation

Accreditation Service

SAC is the national accreditation body in Singapore. It operates a range of accreditation programmes that provide independent assessment and formal recognition of the competence of companies in performing specific type of testing, calibration, inspection, certification and other related activities.

The accreditation criteria for determining the competence of companies are based on the relevant international standard (eg. ISO/IEC 17025, ISO 15189, ISO/IEC 17020, ISO/IEC 17021-1, ISO/IEC 17024, ISO/IEC 17065, ISO/IEC 17043).

SAC will develop new services from time to time to meet the needs of our industry. The current accreditation schemes offered by SAC are:

  • Accreditation Scheme for Laboratories (SAC-SINGLAS)​
  • Accreditation Scheme for Inspection Bodies
  • Accreditation Scheme for Management Systems​​ Certification Bodies
  • Accreditation Scheme for Product Certification Bodies
  • Accreditation Scheme for Proficiency Testing Provider
  • Accreditation Scheme for Personnel Certification Bodies
  • Accreditation Scheme for Validation & Verification Bodies







Spearheaded by Workplace Safety and Health (WSH) Council, bizSAFE provides a systematic five-step process to help companies raise their abilities to manage safety and in turn lead to better productivity and business outcomes.

The Workplace Safety and Health (WSH) Council works closely with the Ministry of Manpower and other Government agencies, the industry, unions and professional associations to develop strategies to raise WSH standards in Singapore and to realise the national WSH 2018 strategy.

bizSAFE LEVEL 1 : The top management of the company has to sign up
for a bizSAFE Level 1 Workshop for CEO/Top Management. Upon
completion of the workshop, the company will be granted bizSAFE Level 1.
bizSAFE LEVEL 2 : The company must nominate a Risk Management (RM)
Champion will then chart out the RM Implementation Plan and the company
will be upgraded to bizSAFE Level 2.
bizSAFE LEVEL 3 : To attain bizSAFE Level 3 status, the company must
engage an approved independent auditor to assess its RM implementation.
Upon meeting recognised as bizSAFE Level 3.recognised as bizSAFE Level 3.
bizSAFE LEVEL 4 : For Level 4, the company must select a Workplace
Safety and Health Management System (WSHMS) Programme Lead to
attend the bizSAFE Level 4 course on WSHMS. the WSHMS Programme
Lead will then develop a WSH Implementation Plan for the company. After
completing the WSHMS Plan, the companymay apply for bizSAFE Level 4
bizSAFE LEVEL 5 : To achieve bizSAFE Level 5 (STAR LEVEL), the
company must engage an independent third party auditor to certify that
your WSHMS meets the SS506 standard or any similar international
standard.standard or any similar international standard.